Skip to content

In which we are introduced to the characters and they discover their location

December 31, 2011

I awake to find myself in a lush meadow comprising of a multitude of long, vibrantly green blades of grass. They rear up tall and wave in the wind as if to indicate their pride at participating in the great revolution or some such. Interspersed at regular intervals are the generals of the army, wildflowers colored in purple, yellow, blue and red; though I must admit for generals they are decidedly flower like. The dirt is very dry and crumbly also very dirt colored, a sort of light brownish if you know what I mean. I get up.

The weather is as follows; lightly breezy with a nice warm sun, not cold but not harsh either, in short just perfect. The sky above is a bright blue and a few clouds of the cumulus variety are hard at work drifting across the vault of the heavens. The meadow stretches out as far as the eye can see and I see a tree a little ways away. To one side a forest stretches out in a neat line as if it were cultivated. It looks cold, dark and foreboding, a striking alternative to the sunny meadow. Perhaps it is a metaphor for the unknown, the unknowable. Perhaps it is just a scary forest.

Julia wakes up and makes it clear that she is hungry. I say that the forest is undoubtedly a metaphor for that which mankind must not know and thus must be approached with only the utmost caution. I say also, it looks kind of scary and why don’t we try that tree over there. She frowns but says OK. Her hair is, as always, impeccable. We walk for a while and I say  what if Raven played basketball. Julie says he would probably be good at it and I concur and so we reach the apple tree.

It is bent over like a willow but definitely an apple tree. I eat an apple. It is small and mousy, slightly bitter. Julia says she is not hungry anymore and come to think of it neither am I. The sun is warm and something is buzzing and and I fall asleep beneath the tree.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Rebecca Davis permalink
    February 4, 2012 1:16 pm

    hey saleem it’s Rebecca Davis from your class at Humboldt. I only have one question for you: why don’t you write more stuff like this in class and share it? your writing is really good and you shouldn’t be afraid to let your creativity show.

    • February 7, 2012 5:42 am

      Hey Rebecca, thanks! I’m flattered but I don’t really post on my blog that often anymore. As you can see I did this around christmastime. So… yeah, not that often.

  2. Rebecca Anne Davis permalink
    February 11, 2012 12:50 am

    lol I see that. I still think it was really creative and you should keep writing stuff like this

Leave a Reply

