Skip to content

An astounding realization of epic proportions

September 16, 2011

A few nights ago I came to be in doubt of the nature of reality. This troubled me and so for the rest of the next day I proceeded to haggle with myself about what I could do about this. It soon became clear that I had find a way to differentiate between reality and happy delusions. For a while I considered a journal until I realized that anything I wrote would be subject to said delusions.  After a few more minutes of self debate it dawned upon me that nothing was essentially real.A little while later, I remembered: cogita ergo sum. A simple enough principle through which I was able to verify the existence of myself (though sadly not of you, dear reader). This being the case I turned to Occam’s razor (I’m not sure how to pronounce that, does anyone know?) for further aid in mincing reality. The simplest explanation being the best, it occurred to me that I could not possibly be alone as this proposition would raise too many questions. Hence it dawned upon me that (self-evidently) I must be locked in a basement somewhere in Kansas serving as the guinea pig for many a radioactive cosmetic treatment and I have constructed this happy delusion as an escape from the plutonium eyeliner so graciously provided by the good folks at L’Oreal Paris. This bit of reasoning done I happily drifted back into the real of non-thought.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 19, 2011 10:12 pm

    Using that guy Occam’s razor, I would encourage you to nick an insignificant part of your anatomy, like your pinky or little toe. The result should snap you into reality.

Leave a Reply

